Isnin, 5 Disember 2011

A Complete Change

A Complete Change
Many young animals do not look like their parents. They undergo changes before they look like their parents. Can you name the animals?

The Life Cycle of A Butterfly
As advanced insects, butterflies and moths have a "complete" life cycle. This means that there are four separate stages, each of which looks completely different and serves a different purpose in the life of the insect.
1.     Egg   - The egg is a tiny, round, oval, or cylindrical object, usually with fine ribs and other microscopic structures. The female attaches the egg to leaves, stems, or other objects, usually on or near the intended caterpillar food.

2.     Caterpillar  - The caterpillar (or larva) is the long, worm-like stage of the butterfly or moth. It often has an interesting pattern of stripes or patches, and it may have spine-like hairs. It is the feeding and growth stage. As it grows, it sheds its skin four or more times so as to enclose its rapidly growing body.

3.       Pupa - The chrysalis (or pupa) is the transformation stage within which the caterpillar tissues are broken down and the adult insect's structures are formed. The chrysalis of most species is brown or green and blends into the background. Many species overwinter in this stage.

4.       Butterfly - The adult (or imago) is colorful butterfly or moth usually seen. It is the reproductive and mobile stage for the species. The adults undergo courtship, mating, and egg-laying. The adult butterfly or moth is also the stage that migrates or colonizes new habitats. The butterfly pictured here is a Monarch, which is fairly large in size. The Monarch's wingspan is 3 3/8 - 4 7/8 inches (8.6 - 12.4 cm).

What are the stages of the frog's life cycle?

Eggs:  Frogs lay thousands of eggs that do not have shells.  They are
covered with a jelly-like substance that helps protect them from being
eaten by creatures in the water.  The eggs stick together to form frog-
spawn that floats to the top of the water.  A few days later the tadpoles
hatch out.

TadpolesTadpoles have a head, tail and body.  They live under water
and breathe through their gills.  They eat algae and other tiny water
plants as they swim.  After about a month, a bulge appears at the
base of their tail where their hind legs will grow.  They also begin
to grow lungs for breathing.

Tadpoles to Froglets:  After seven weeks their hind legs begin to grow.  After nine weeks, front lets grow and their tails are almost gone.  After about twelve weeks the tadpoles can swim to the surface of the water and breathe in air
Adult Frogs:  After about three months, the tadpoles have become young frogs.  They can live in or out of water and eat insects or worms. 


Tiada ulasan:

Catat Ulasan